The Thing about Hospital Beds

The thing about hospital beds

is that they aren’t for sleeping

They’re for screaming at all of the things that put you there

Life jackets aren’t real jackets

They don’t protect you from the cold words people say

when they find out where you spent the night

The little bag that hangs above my head

is slowly dripping poison into my veins

They tell me it’s supposed to help

but I don’t feel any better

I’d rip the needles out if I had the strength to take my life

It wasn’t supposed to end like this

I wasn’t supposed to be begging for my life

because I don’t want it unless I’m the one to take it

It has to be on my terms

I’ve learned that much laying here

Planning how to never come back

Leave a Reply

